NCUA Field of Membership Rules Make Entire State of Wyoming a Rural District

In 2018, the National Credit Union Administration raised its threshold for how many citizens a district could have to be determined rural from 250,000 to one million.

The rule change re-classified the entire state of Wyoming – with nearly 600,000 residents, more than half of whom live in cities – as a rural district. As a result, Cheyenne-based credit union WYHY Federal Credit Union was granted a community charter to serve the entire state of Wyoming.

The $270 million credit union now boasts that “anyone who lives, works, worships, or attends school” can join its 15,000-person membership.

Read more.


See the impact on taxes in your state.

Tell Congress: It’s time to reform credit unions.